1st Monday of Lent- Psalms 4 and 5

I didn’t post over the weekend as Saturday I was in attendance of the 1st annual Catholic Women for Christ Conference in St. Louis. It was a wonderful, faithful experience that I was hoping would last a while, but with the way this morning is going… the glow has worn off! Don’t get me wrong, it was a great day and I was able to spend it with some of my closest friends. We started the day with Praise and Worship at 730a and the concluding Mass started at around 430p. By far, my favorite part was hearing Colleen Carrol-Campbell speak on “The Feminine Genius” and the Eucharistic Procession was just heavenly! I don’t know why, but I tend to get all teary eyed during processions… I don’t know if it’s the sight of the seminarians and priests who have decided to serve the Lord and shepherd the flock or if it’s just being in the presence of Christ. Either way, I get chills just thinking about it.

We had the opportunity to watch a music video of a song written in honor of the Priesthood, during this Year of the Priest. It’s a song called “Our Priests” and the video consists of images of priests throughout time. There are two images in the montage that get me, one is a solitary figure walking down a dark street alone and the other is of Luis Padillo, a Navy Chaplain, as he is administering Last Rites to a dying soldier  while they are both under fire. I encourage you to take a moment to view this video, it really is inspiring.

To make up for the weekend, I read Psalms 4 and 5 today, both of which came in handy this morning. The only bad thing about attending the conference is that I missed out on my weekend re-charge, that tends to happen when the hubs is home. I took LR with me to the conference as she is still exclusively breastfed and while we had a great time, I almost felt like I was the poster child for Nursing in Public because LR loves her Na-Nas. But I digress. Psalm 4 is a psalm in which the psalmist is talking about trusting in God while Psalm 5 is a cry for divine help. These two go well hand in hand as only one who trusts in God would cry out to Him for divine help. But the key to the answer to your cry for help is listening. One of the speakers this Saturday was from Intercessors of the Lamb and the deacon spoke to us about the power of listening. Listening is one of the hardest prayers we can pray because it forces us to sit and be still… both of which are hard in general but when you throw in external distractions in the mix, it can be downright maddening. One thing that I am going to do today is find a few minutes alone and sit in a dark room (probably the bathroom) and just listen. I have often wished to hear God’s voice and I feel that I am missing every time He speaks to me because I am just not listening.

And here have I, the audacity to chastise my daughter for not listening to me…

Pax Christi!

Leave a comment

Filed under breastfeeding, Lent

Leave a Reply

