1st Tuesday of Lent- Mk 13:11

So I have decided to make an executive decision… while I enjoy reading the Psalms, I am finding it hard to reflect on them, especially with two younglings around. I am still going to post, however instead of the Psalms, I am going to let the Spirit guide me to the verse of the day.

Today’s verse is from the Gospel of Mark and Christ is instructing about the coming events: the Destruction of the Temple, the Signs of the End, the Coming Persecution, the Great Tribulation. I remember when I first heard this verse… it was at the Christ Renews His Parish (CRHP) Prayer Service and it floored me with its simplicity and assuredness:

“When they lead you away and hand you over, do not worry beforehand about what you are to say. But say whatever will be given to you at that hour. For it will not be you who are speaking but the holy Spirit.”

This is a verse that I often turn to when I am to do some public speaking, but we have to remember that it can also be used, or more appropriately should be used when speaking to others about our faith. If there is one thing that tends to perplex me, it is that quite often (not always but often) atheists want to make those of the Faith defend their decision to follow Christ. I know that those who do not follow Christ do not want to be “talked into” Christ but at the same time, as a Christian, I do not have the obligation to defend my faith. Yes, I am a scientist; yes, I was a Science teacher; and yes, I am a Catholic. If you want me to honor your decision to stay disconnected from Christ, please respect my decision to follow my Lord.

Leave a comment

Filed under Lent

Leave a Reply

