1st Friday of Lent- The Dream

I had this dream Wednesday night and it’s really stuck with me, partly because of how it made me feel emotionally and partly because I thought that it would make a great blog post.

in my dream, my husband was taking a job in South Africa. It was a great promotion for him but the crux was that he could only take 1 family member with him… and he chose to take our daughter, BO, leaving me and LR behind. This devistated me in the dream and it would in real life. The emotions I felt:  anger, sadness, anxiety all stemmed from him taking our little girl away from me. I begged him to try to figure out how we could all stay together but there was nothing he could do, he and BO were going to South Africa and leaving us behind and he didn’t know when they’d return.

I woke it a cold sweat, breathing hard and it was all that I could do to keep from running into BO’s room and hugging, hugging, hugging her. I repeated over and over, it was a dream, it was a dream.

To any parent, the thought of losing a child is unimaginable. Our children come from us and are such the part of us and the thought that they could be taken from us, by accident or force, is something that we never want to deal with. And then I allowed my mind to go out of the existential plane and I wondered, “Is this how God feels when one of his children leaves the faith or when the Evil One claims a soul for its own?”

1 John 5:18-20

18We know that anyone born of God does not continue to sin; the one who was born of God keeps him safe, and the evil one cannot harm him. 19We know that we are children of God, and that the whole world is under the control of the evil one. 20We know also that the Son of God has come and has given us understanding, so that we may know him who is true. And we are in him who is true—even in his Son Jesus Christ. He is the true God and eternal life.

Meatless Friday Menu:

Plantain Pancakes

Sweetened Black Beans

Broccoli

Leave a comment

Filed under Lent

Leave a Reply

