Gentle Discipline

At our home we try to use the concept of “Gentle Discipline,” also known as “Loving Guidance.” In a nutshell, when behaviours need to be corrected, we try to keep the mental and physical health and welfare of our children intact. There are some days this works flawlessly and there are other days when you want to toss it out the window and go to the old fall back of corporal punishment (whoopin’s for us old schoolers.)

Yesterday was one of those days when it was difficult to be a gentle parent because the Bear was living up to her nickname. I found myself repeating over and over again, “She’s only 2, she’s only 2” but that didn’t ease the complete frustration I had with her because she would not do as I said. The Onion ran an article entitled “New Study Reveals Most Children Unrepentant Sociopaths” (If you did not know, The Onion is satire… started at Wisconsin by the way!) and while tongue-in-cheek, terribly accurate. So it got me thinking, just because she won’t do as I say, does that give me the right to essentially bully her? After all, I am bigger, stronger and smarter and I can do more damage than good. What kind of example would I be setting for her if I taught her that when someone doesn’t do as you want them to, you get physical to make them? And think about it, when’s the last time you hit a friend or co-worker because they refused to do as you wanted them to?

I don’t know who to attribute it to, but I once read a saying that said:

If a child hits a child, it’s called aggression.
If a child hits an adult, it’s called defiance.
If an adult hits an adult, it’s called assault.
If an adult hits a child, it’s called discipline.

My post was featured in the Gentle Discipline Fair!
Visit BabyDustDiaries.com to see the monthly fairs and other great Gentle Discipline resources.

Gentle Parent - art by Erika Hastings at http://mudspice.wordpress.com/

3 Comments

Filed under life, mothering

3 responses to “Gentle Discipline

  1. Paige @ Baby Dust Diaries

    omg, amen! I’m going to add this to the upcomming Carnival of Gentle Discipline

  2. Pingback: May Gentle Discipline Fair » The Road Less Traveled To Parenthood » Baby Dust Diaries

  3. This post if featured in the May Gentle Discipline Fair! Let you readers know by adding the badge to your post! Code is available here: http://docs.google.com/View?id=adcp4gds9fvq_297gd5jv6dw

Leave a Reply

