Rockin’ the Chapel Veil

Today, I stepped out of my comfort zone and listened to what the Holy Spirt had been telling me for many weeks and I wore my chapel veil to Mass.

Yesterday, I had the privilege of attending the priestly ordination of my dear friend, Father Anthony Ochoa, and I was astonished to see the number of women extolling their femininity and humbling themselves before God by wearing the veil. I thought about bringing my veil but in the hub-bub of the morning, I forgot to bring it. It was while the men where prostrating themselves that the Spirit spoke to me and said that it was time for me to reclaim my feminine nature and to veil myself during the Mass.

The experience was both enlightening and humbling. When I came to take my place with my family, my husband did give me a “funny” look and asked if I was planning on attending a funeral and I told him that I would explain the veil later. There were times during the Mass that the evil one would whisper to me that I was wearing the veil out of pride, to show others how pious I was but then the Spirit would remind me that the veil is an external symbol of a feminine nature and to see it was pleasing to Him.

I have decided that I will need to either pin the veil to my head or to get a longer one, as my youngest daughter liked to play with it and removed it from my head a few times. πŸ™‚

If you are thinking of wearing the chapel veil but need a little push, I hope this scripture passage will help:

β€œBut I would have you know, that the head of every man is Christ; and the head of the woman is the man; and the head of Christ is God. Every man praying or prophesying with his head covered, disgraceth his head. But every woman praying or prophesying with her head not covered, disgraceth her head: for it is all one as if she were shaven. For if a woman be not covered, let her be shorn. But if it be a shame to a woman to be shorn or made bald, let her cover her head. The man indeed ought not to cover his head, because he is the image and glory of God; but the woman is the glory of the man. For the man is not of the woman, but the woman of the man. For the man was not created for the woman, but the woman for the man. Therefore ought the woman to have a power over her head, because of the angels. In the Lord, however, woman is not independent of man, nor is man independent of woman. For as woman came from man, so also man is born of woman. But everything comes from God.” (1 Cor 11:3-12)

(emphasis mine)

Another good source for easing into the Chapel Veil is at the Catholic Knight

Pax Christi and Pray for all of our Veterans and for the Souls of Fallen Soldiers.

8 Comments

Filed under sacraments, tradition

8 responses to “Rockin’ the Chapel Veil

  1. Colleen

    I agree that whatever you do that might bring you closer in your walk with Christ the better. πŸ™‚

    • now I am trying to decide if I should get a veil for the Bear to wear. I’m not sure if she would keep it on but she might to be like Mama. The little crochet caps I’ve made are kind of chapel veils for babies so the Dragonfly has been veiled longer than me!

  2. Carmen

    I don’t think I’ve ever seen someone wearing a veil at Mass, but I’ve been to only two parishes. Perhaps you are going to be a good example for someone else to see. πŸ™‚ But I’m recalling a passage somewhere in the NT about a woman’s hair being her covering? I think it was NT, anyway…

    • You are probably thinking of that passage in 1 Corinthians. But it makes sense, if you look at Judaism and Islam, there is a great honor to a woman’s hair (I know for sure that orthodox Jewish women cover their natural hair with either a wig or a covering) and since Judaism, Islam and Christianity are all connected by Abraham, it makes sense that it would apply to Christians as well. But it has to be a personal decision. I found a cute knit pattern for a chapel veil that I might try out!

  3. creationbydesign

    Thanks for your courage. We have some young women in our parish who always wear a veil at Mass. It definitely gives a powerful message about true femininity and how important that is. I think you’re right also about how the evil one will try to dissuade you from this act of reverence since it can have such a powerful spiritual impact for the good of everyone. A woman’s hair is a glory, so to veil one’s head is truly an act of humility — covering our own glory for the sake of worshipping God. It’s a beautiful thing. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you! I don’t think of it so much as courage but rather honor and glorifying God in the way that is comfortable for me. But I do agree with your remark how a woman’s hair is her glory and to voluntarily cover for the sake of God is a huge statement! Thank you for reading and commenting and I hope you’ll come back!

  4. Pingback: When less is more « Caffeinated Catholic Mama

  5. Pingback: Reminiscing: the Dress | Caffeinated Catholic Mama

Leave a Reply

