Don’t know what ‘cha got ’til it’s gone

This year we decided to send the Bear up North to visit her grandparents for a week. It’s funny, because if you would have asked me 3 years ago if I’d ever let her go for a visit, I would have said “Sure! When she’s 10!” I don’t know what changed my mind on the whole thing, it might have been the fact that she seems so grown-up now. When I look at her, I don’t see my pudgy baby anymore, I see a little girl.

So as of today, she’s been up there for 4 days. She and Daddy took the train from St. Louis to Chicago and Grandma met them in Chicago to continue their trip North (sans Daddy.) The rest of us are leaving in two days to head North to re-join our little girl. I’ve talked to her every other day so far and she is having a blast with Grandma and Grandpa.

The Dragonfly is missing her sister, though. Every morning, after we get up, she crawls into The Bear’s room saying “Ba, Ba, Ba” always looking but not finding. I am personally surprised at what an impact The Bear makes on our daily lives. With her not being here, I find myself talking to really no one. I never realized how much I talk to her or how much she plays with her little sister, leaving me time to pray, cook, clean, sew, knit and when I am inspired, blog. (I’ve been suffering writer’s block for a bit and it’s still there to be honest.)

Given everything, I am glad for our decision. I’d love for her and, eventually, The Dragonfly to grow up with wonderful memories of visiting Grandparents during the summer. I didn’t spend much time with my Grandparents as a child and maybe it’s a little selfish, but at least this way I can live a little vicariously through my girls.

Leave a comment

Filed under life, mothering

Leave a Reply

