World Breastfeeding Week: Day 1

Happy World Breastfeeding Week (WBW)! Every year, runs from August 1-7 and every year, my family finds itself in beautiful Door County Wisconsin for our annual vacation. We are blessed in that my In-laws live up here year-round and therefore, it’s a fairly cheap vacation. Long car ride, but surely worth it.

This year, our travels were a little bit easier in that The Bear was already up North with Grandma and Grandpa and leaving only three of us traveling the 10+ hours from St. Louis to the Door Peninsula. For those of you wondering how you make long car rides and frequent nursings work, without stretching your car ride by hours and hours, I present a step-by-step guide to breastfeeding in motion:

1. Sit next to your rear-facing little one. If you have motion sickness, like I do, make sure you have a proper emesis catching receptacle handy. I personally like Target bags.

2. Stretch your seat belt as far as it can go, all the while reminding your husband not to crash the car. I find you have to repeat that phrase over and over… kind of like a mantra. If you are a praying type, as I am, you usually start praying for safety at this point. A few “Hail Marys” and “Jesus, please don’t let my husband crash” are favorites of mine. If you can’t stretch your seat belt, you may have to unlatch the belt and increase the frequency of said prayers.

3. Channel your inner contortionist and latch baby on. If you are larger breasted, you will have the advantage of not having to lean so far over baby, if you are smaller breasted, you’ll get a great oblique workout. Remain in this position until the feeding is done or baby drifts off.

4. If you are traveling during the day and don’t have tinted windows, be sure to wave to the curious on-lookers and truckers. You might have just made their day.

5. Repeat as needed. And for me… that’s most of the trip. In fact, other than driving from St. Louis to Lexington, IL, I spent the duration of the trip acting as human pacifier #1.

I am sure you are thinking, wouldn’t having a bottle just be easier? Sure… but where would the truckers get their entertainment from?

___________________________________________________
As this is WBW, my posts this week will reflect this. In addition, use my blogroll visit other blogs that celebrate breastfeeding and the joy that comes from it. Make sure you check them out! Also, the 8th Edition of The Womanly Art of Breastfeeding is out. This edition has been revised since 2004 and it. is. awesome. Seriously.

Pax Christi!

2 Comments

Filed under breastfeeding, eco-friendly, feminism, funnies, mothering

2 responses to “World Breastfeeding Week: Day 1

  1. Alas, I have never been able to make the nursing in the carseat work. Luckily, my little one only requires 15 min breaks every 2-4 hours because he goes to sleep during roadtrips…yay!

    Although, on our first roadtrip, I did bring along a manual pump just in case and it came in handy during a traffic jam when I found out that our carseat didn’t support this mama’s attempts to nurse in the car.

  2. Hannah

    Haha. I did this with an 11.5 month old (who doesn’t take a bottle anyway) on a long road trip when he was too distracted to nurse whenever we stopped. He just wanted to run and play every time we stopped the car. A month later and I still think I am producing more milk on the left side that I nursed him from more often in the car. I think there are probably small safety risks to this if one were to crash, but I chose to risk those over a dehydrated baby and engorged mom.

Leave a Reply

