Mom Vacations… good idea in theory.

There’s something that I realized yesterday… the solo-vaction for mom is a great idea in theory but horrid in practice. It’s not just because this mom in particular is a total control freak and can’t let go, but rather, it’s the aftermath of the return. I have realized that time away from the crazy that is a house with 2 under the age of 4 is…

…one is less tolerant of the crazy that is.

The Bear can sometimes be, well, a 3 year old and there are times that I really have to remind myself that she is 3 and not 4 or 5 or 14. However, yesterday was quite the hot mess of Mama Failure and it seemed to compound itself right after 230p. The culmination was me, while sitting on the potty, shouting at The Bear to get out of the bathroom (she was trying to come into the bathroom where I was, while she was carrying a laundry basket!) Our bathroom is smaller than most people’s closets and can just fit one person… surely not 1 adult, 1 toddler, 1 preschooler and a laundry basket.

So, of course, I call one of my BFFs to have her talk me off the ledge so to speak. She reminded me that when our kids are little everything is made up of finite moments… there will be a time when I will be able to go to the bathroom without an audience. And the next time I decide to take a trip on my own… I have to remind myself that the little reprieve that I experience will make the crazy feel that much more… well, crazy.
__________________________________________________
If you haven’t in a while, call a mom friend just to chat and thank them for being there for you.

Coming tomorrow! A new friday topic: Dairy Free… sometimes Vegan… recipes! AND there will be a chance for you to submit your favorite recipes as well!!

Pax Christi!

1 Comment

Filed under life, mothering, Thursday

One response to “Mom Vacations… good idea in theory.

  1. I think it’s that way for a lot of people after a vacation, regardless of your job. Just because you get away from something that is irking you doesn’t necessarily mean that, when you come back to it, the annoyance will go away! Be it your boss, coworker, child, pet, significant other… It’s like a pain tolerance; once that pain is relieved, you have to build your tolerance back up to be able to take what you used to handle…
    Don’t let it stop you from taking vacations, though! You’ll lose your mind without them 🙂

Leave a Reply

