Book Review and Giveaway: The Invisible World by Anthony DeStefano

Hope everyone had a reverent Memorial Day! (For my overseas readers, the last Monday in May is set aside as Memorial Day here in the US. For some, it’s nothing but the “unofficial” start to summer; for others, the day gives us another chance to stop and remember those who gave all for their country.)

A few months back I was contacted by Anthony DeStefano about reviewing his most recent Adult Novel, The Invisible World: Understanding Angels, Demons, and the Spiritual Realities That Surround Us. You may or may not remember, but I reviewed Mr. DeStefano’s childrens’ book, Little Star during Advent. And like in Little Star, Mr. DeStefano has proved himself to be a knowledgeable and complete writer, with the ability to get complex messages across to his readers without going over their heads. It might come across as off-putting to some, but Mr. DeStefano’s writing style in this book is so casual and conversational that you almost forget that you are reading a book on Spirituality and not just having a chat with a good friend.

Early in the book, Mr. DeStefano reminds us that the most important things in life are also the ones that cannot be seen with the naked eye:

Ideas can’t be seen. Love can’t be seen. Honor can’t be seen. (pg. 18)

Keeping pace with traditional Christian teaching, Mr. DeStefano walks along with us as he discusses God, Angels, Demons, The Soul, The Battle for our Souls, Grace, Suffering, Heaven, Hell and fine tuning your “Haunt Detector” to be more open to experiencing these happenings.

One of my favorite passages comes toward the end:

Everything in life comes down to faith. Our whole knowledge of human history is based on it. Think about it. Where you around when the Romans conquered Carthage in 146 BC? How about when Columbus discovered America in 1492? Do you know for sure that George Washington crossed the Delaware in 1776? No? Well, how do you know these events took place?… None of it is firsthand. None of it is scientifically provable. All of it, really, must be accepted on faith- faith in the authors of the documents, and faith in the reliability of the testimonies. (p. 199)

For me, this was a quick, extremely interesting and uplifting read… It just took me forever to post about it! This book would make a great addition to anyone’s library, whether you are a dyed-in-the-wool Christian or if you are questioning the existance of God in general. Hey, I just had an inspiration! A Great combination would be for a Book Club would be to read this book along with C.S. Lewis’ The Screwtape Letters! And then do a little C and C? (Compare and Contrast?) (Our group read Screwtape this fall, and if you haven’t read, please do!! It’s fantasic!)

If you would like a chance to win a copy of The Invisible World here’s how you can do it:

1. For one entry, leave a comment below telling me your opinion about Angels and Demons (and I don’t mean the Dan Brown book) and if they affect our lives.
2. For an additional entry, head over to FaceBook and “Like” my Page (Caffeinated Catholic Mama)
3. For an additional entry, sign up for email subscriptions, so you never miss a posting!

(If you already “like” me and are signed up for emails, let me know in your original comment, so you get your extra entries!)

_________________________________________________________________________
Because this is a great book, I am leaving this giveaway open to all readers WORLDWIDE (can’t leave out my UK and Germany peeps!) Winner will be drawn by The ever popular Miss Random.Org on June 30 at 5p CST. Be sure to share with your friends and family!

Pax Christi!

**I was contacted by the author for my honest, unbiased review. I was not compensated in anyway for my opinion.**

7 Comments

Filed under Book Review, Catholic, Giveaway, Spirituality, Tuesday

7 responses to “Book Review and Giveaway: The Invisible World by Anthony DeStefano

  1. Kim

    I’ve recently been thinking about spiritual warfare and wanting to study it a bit. Funny how this book review just dropped in on me… or is God providing me an answer once again?!? Love how He works in our lives if our eyes and minds are open to see His work. Thanks for taking the time to read and review this book. I’m looking forward to reading it!
    PS – I’m on your email list and already like you on FB!

  2. I am the wife of a career soldier, daughter of a soldier, and a veteran my self, and I had the great pleasure of spending my Memorial day with Faye Hooper! The widow of Joe Hooper, the medal of honor recipiant and Most decorated Soldier of Veitnam!
    This sounds like a wonderful read ! I have always believed in the “unseen”. when I was 16, two friends and I when accosted by three bright orbs of light ( light blue-white roman candle balls), they flew right at us then hit something about a foot in front of us and exploded ( I believe an Angel stepped in there). That experiance, is one of the things that lead me home to “The Church”… ( none of the protestant churches, had an answer for my experiance 😉
    I believe that we are constantly guided and help by the “unseen” ( a would have many more sorrows without them) i.e. how many time have you been late or ran a few minutes behind, because a misplaced pair of shoes, or cell phone, and then come apon a wreck that happened just a head of you, and you thought ” that could have been us, had we been on time” or ran back in the house for a forgotten item and found the phone ringing, with an important call. The more attuned you become, the more works that can be seen. I would love to read this book.
    P.S. I also, am already on your Email list and like you on FB 🙂

  3. Wendy

    I think angels and demons are totally real and enter our works daily. I pray to my guardian angel all the time and have really felt her presence. I don’t really have a grip on the demon thing, but they scare me and there are times when I have recalled the passages in the bible where demons are cast out and wondered just what that might look like. I have a feeling that we are all too at home with the behavior and don’t even see 1/2 the evil in the world. It is my belief, though, that the good will triumph and that our angels have our back in the battle!

    Btw–already like you on fb :). Thought I was signed up for updates, but I know I am now 🙂

  4. Laura

    I’ve always believed in angels. Angels are easy to believe in. I have always been terrified of stories and movies involving evil spirits. It is uncomfortable to believe demons exist. In more recent years I have felt more comfortable (although I still avoid scary books and movies) believing in the existence of both angels and demons. I know in my heart that my relationship with Jesus provides ultimate joy and safety.

    I also like you on fb and subscribe to your blog. 🙂

  5. corita

    I believe in them. Mostly I do not think of them, though, because I was taught as a child not to be interested in the spirit world. But my mother also has had numerous experiences with both angels and demons, and thus it is hard for even skeptical me to deny that they are real.

    Here is one: My mother was sitting on the floor praying one day and her legs were stuck straight out in front of her. Suddenly she was being lifted up, set on her feet, and felt a *push* on her back, propelling her to the kitchen. There in the corner near the laundry room was my sister, about to drink the bleach (this was before safety caps!).

    I like your page on FB and I am signed up, I believe for the emails!

  6. corita

    I also wanted to add that a friend of mine has spent mcuh time pursuing knowledge of the spiritual world. His life is pervaded by darkness. When he came to visit us my mother (not even knowing about that) felt her spirit recoil from him. I experienced a great deal of emotional oppression when I was with him.

Leave a Reply

