7 Quick Takes Friday (Vol. 4)

1.

I just finished reading Signs of Life by Scott Hahn. In the book, he discusses 40 Catholic traditions and customs and the biblical meanings behind them. If you are not familiar with Hahn, he was a Presbyterian minister, raised and taught in the Calvinist tradition, who converted to Catholicism in the 1980s. His book, Rome Sweet Home is the story of his and his wife’s conversion story and is an amazing read as well.

2.

One of the inspirations from the book that I have started to incorporate into my life is the Morning Offering. When I wake up, I say a little prayer. The wording changes day-to-day, but in essence I offer all of my works, words, deeds, thoughts, prayers, and sufferings to Jesus. I find by doing this, my day goes a bit more smoothly, most likely because of all of the Graces that flow from living your daily life as a constant prayer.

3.

The next book on my nightstand is Parenting with Grace: The Catholic Parents’ Guide to Raising (Almost) Perfect Kids. I’m excited about this one, because it seems to apply Gentle Parenting philosophies to the Blessed Pope John Paul II’s Theology of the Body. The forward is written by Dr. Bill and Martha Sears.

4.

I just have to laugh about this one: I have been talking about, and complaining about, and bargaining for a new mattress for at least two years. DH always kind of brushed it off, saying, it’s not that bad. Well… now that he is sleeping well, thanks to his new CPAP, he is researching new mattresses. Better late than never, I guess.

5.

The August issue of Good Housekeeping has a great article that all parents/ caregivers of young kids should read. It’s about the popularization of child glitz pageants and the sexualization of our kids, especially our daughters. I can’t help but feel for one child, six year old, Eden Wood, who with her parents’ permission, has her own agent, look-a-like dolls, a biography, has recorded her first single and

T-shirts that feature a photo of Eden in a showgirl-style pink costume and matching headdress along with a slogan that reads “I’m Tanned and ready for the Stage!

All of her “merchandise” can be purchased on-line on her website. Sigh.

6.

This month JonBenet Ramesy, arguably the most famous child beauty pageant participant, would have turned 21 had she not been murdered in 1996.

7.

I’d like to ask for some prayers for some friends of mine. Without revealing specifics, please pray for: spontaneous labor to bring Baby D into the world, safe travels for my friend’s husband as he travels from the Far East, prayers for comfort and healing for a family who lost a little one before they were born, and for pleasant weather this weekend. If you have any prayer intentions or requests, add them in the comments below!

_________________________________________________________________________
Head over to Conversion Diary to read more Quick Takes or to add your own!

Pax Christi!

5 Comments

Filed under 7 Quick Takes, Catholic, family, Friday

5 responses to “7 Quick Takes Friday (Vol. 4)

  1. Joy

    Recently finished Parenting with Grace and really enjoyed it ~ hope you do too!
    Good luck finding a good mattress! Will pray for your intentions.

    • Thanks for reading and for your comment, Joy! I am LOVING Parenting with Grace. But I’ve loved Popcak’s other books as well. Thank you for your prayers!

  2. Raquel

    I have been trying to get that parenting book but for one reason or another I always forget when I visit Pauline’s bookstore (run by the Daughters of St Paul sisters). I love Scott Hahn and quite enjoyed The Lambs Supper…awesome work. And TOB is just about the greatest thing “invented”. I actually did a talk about it at last years local Young Adult retreat. It is so important. I am pushing for it to be part of the curriculum at my old high school.
    I would also like to promote the YouCat. It is the CCC written for youth and young adults. It is very cool and also necessary. Take care!

    • I have been meaning to head out to the Pauline bookstore for some time. I ordered mine from Amazon for just over $10. Quite the deal in my book! Lambs Supper was great and I think Hahn did a great job explaining the Mass. I’ll have to check out YouCat as well. I have my copy of CCC but I would love another “readable” version.

  3. Raquel

    Also, I was in 2-3 beauty pageants when I was little but my mom never allowed it to get out of control. I barely wore make-up and some of my costumes included traditional style flamenco dress with a high collar…probably why I only got runner up. It is sad to see children stripped of their innocence and childhood.

Leave a Reply

