Age ain’t nothin’ but a number… isn’t it?

Einstein taught that time is relative so as an extension, age must be as well. And if you think about it, it really is.

On any given day, I don’t perceive myself to be any older than the girl that I was when I was eighteen, or twenty-two, or even twenty-eight, but the signs of the slow deliberate march of time are undeniable. For me, it’s the little things, a little crinkle in the corner of my eyes from years of smiling; saddlebags, that despite meters and meters of side lunges and a fairly healthy diet just will not go away; graying hairs. But I have encountered two things recently that just make me feel old.

One, there is a new station here in St. Louis called “Gen X Radio,” and it plays songs made popular for and by Gen Xers. Now, as a kid growing up in Milwaukee, I remember WKLH always talking about playing the hits from the 60s, 70s and “today.” Now the music from “My Generation” (with a nod to The Who there) is on a totally separate radio station, separated from Top 40, and is a beast of its own. And you want to know what? I. Love. It. Now, I won’t listen to it when the girls are in the Swagger Wagon, only because… well, I’m that mom who really doesn’t want her daughters singing “If you wanna be my lovah.” (Spice Girls, there.) But if I am driving solo, you know that I am rockin’ out to No Doubt, , Everclear, Green Day, Color Me Badd, BBD, Madonna, Goo Goo Dolls, Lifehouse, etc, etc.

Two, right now, DH is watching the Encore Mini-series “Moby Dick”. So, I am half-watching it. I tried reading Moby Dick a few times, but just couldn’t get into it. I do know that the retail chain “Starbucks” took it’s name from a character in the novel, Mr. Starbuck, though. But that’s not my point. Well, it kind of is, you see, Ethan Hawke plays “Mr. Starbuck,” and I remember as a kid thinking how cute Ethan Hawke was. Same thing would go for Christian Slater or Denzel. But now I noticed something different about Mr. Hawke and the ilk, and here’s the thing… they are still cute actors, but when you look at them, they look… old.

So does that mean that I soon will become that mom embarrassing her kids?

________________________________________________________________________________________________

Pax Christi!

Leave a comment

Filed under life, Tuesday

Leave a Reply

