Thursday’s List: Ten Things I love to do while in Door County

Good Morning! I am writing to you all from beautiful Door County, Wisconsin. Since baby Cazimir arrived this past Sunday, I was able to join the rest of my family for this impromptu trip “Up Nort’.” We are quite blessed in the regard that my In-Laws live up here year-round, which makes for easy, comfortable, family-centered lodgings. We try to make it up here at least once per year, sometimes more, and with each trip there are things that I love to do and am sad if I miss:

Ten Things I love to do while in Door County

10.

Rootbeer Floats at Wilson’s in Ephriam. 

The claim to fame here is not the ice cream (I believe it’s Blue Bunny) but it is the Root Beer, brewed and crafted in house. In the summertime, this place can be quite hoppin’, so either get there early in the day or be ready for a patient wait, overlooking the water.

9.

Hands On Art Studio

I am one of those crafty girls and this is the place to be for crafty people. They have paint-your-own pottery and craft-your-own mosaics, among other artsy deals. Make sure to get there early in your trip as the items do take time to fire and cure.

8.

The Shops on Jefferson Street in Sturgeon Bay

If you like to shop, these are shops to check out. They are cute, unique and have just about anything that you might be looking for. And if not, it’s still fun to walk downtown.

7.

Peninsula Players Theatre

We don’t get to do this every visit because the play season is limited. Peninsula Players Theatre is a theatre in a garden and therefore, kind of hard to attend in the winter time, but it makes for a great evening out. Pack a light picnic, enjoy your snack by the water and watch the sunset and attend a play in the glorious outdoors.

6.

Friday Night Fish Fry

OK, I am a Wisconsin girl through and through and I love my fish frys. (yes, that is the plural of fish fry.) Some people here will swear by fish boils (think New England Clam Bake style) but for me, fridays are characterized by fried fish, french fries and beer.

5.

Not Licked Yet Frozen Custard in Fish Creek

First of all, custard and ice cream are two different things. Custard is rich, decadent and chock full of eggs along with the cream and other goodness of ice cream. Not Licked Yet does have some indoor seating but is mostly outdoor, where you can enjoy your custard among the gnomes.

4.

Al Johnson’s in Sister Bay

Goats on the Roof. Servers in Dirndls. Swedish Meatballs. Swedish Pancakes and Lingonberries. Yum.

3.

Village Cafe in Egg Harbor

This was one of the first places that we ate at when I started coming here with my husband. Village Cafe is not just food, it’s a shop and an art studio all rolled into one. I always tell myself I am going to branch out and order something new, but I always end up with the bagel with veggies and sprouts and cream cheese. Delish!

2.

Door County Coffee and Tea

I’m a Caffeinated Catholic Mama and they sell Espresso. Good espresso.

1.

St. John’s Catholic Church in Egg Harbor

This is where The Mister and I were married. It’s the cutest little church and it’s special for us.

___________________________________________________________________________________________

I think it speaks volumes about me that most of my favorites revolve around food…


1 Comment

Filed under family, lists, Thursday

One response to “Thursday’s List: Ten Things I love to do while in Door County

  1. Awww I love Wisconsin (including Door County). Thanks for making me “homesick” (I’m not actually FROM there) in a good way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

