What I’m Reading Wednesday: Parenting with Grace

Truth be told, I am usually reading 3-4 books at one time. I try to mix fiction and non-fiction and the reading is all over the place. I know that I have mentioned Parenting with Grace once before, but I am still reading the book, so it counts for today!

Parenting with Grace is written by Dr. Greg Popcak and his wife, Lisa. The basic point of the book is melding the teachings of the Catholic Church with parenting techniques with the goal of “raising (almost) perfect children.”

Right now I am in the section dealing with discipline. Now the funny thing is, at the beginning of this particular chapter, Dr. Greg addresses the readers who may have skipped all of the beginning chapters to get right to this particular chapter. Basically, he tells them that they need to go back to the beginning of the book and read it from the beginning because if the reader does not understand where the parenting techniques come from, with respect to Church teaching, the book is no good to them. But he does it much better than I just did.

Parenting with Grace embraces more of a gentle, family-centered approach to parenting, rather than a parenting style in which the parent has more of a totalitarian mindset. However, this does not mean that the parents are encouraged to sit back at let their kids walk all over them, rather, parents are taught that discipline or teaching their children is constant, not just when the kid does something wrong. Ideally, if you are constantly teaching your children, you should not have to “punish” them because there will not be a need for the punishment. The child will choose to make the right decision (right for the family, right for themselves) because of their love for you, not because they fear you.

I love the book. But I also loved Dr. Popcak’s other book Holy Sex! I have yet to read For better… FOREVER! his book on marriage but I knowing what I know about his writing style, I am sure I’d love that too!

___________________________________________________________________________________________


1 Comment

Filed under books, wednesday

One response to “What I’m Reading Wednesday: Parenting with Grace

  1. Crunchy Con Mommy

    I loved Parenting with Grace! But I’ve heard bad stuff about their other books. I don’t remember what exactly though now.

Leave a Reply

