Teachin’ the Teacher Tuesday: Education via Childrens’ Programming

There are two things that I do not do well:

1. Handle Change (and I am not talking money)
2. Ask for Help.

The Children’s Programming Channel that we favor in our house really likes to change things up. Shows will change time slots or disappear all together. It doesn’t seem to bother my kids, but let me tell you… it drives me up the wall when things just move. And I’ll admit… it’s not just programming changes that bug me, it can be anything that upsets my status quo. It would drive me nuts when different actors come in to play established characters, I can’t stand it when I have a plan in my mind and then we have to deviate from said plan. I think that’s why traffic really gets to me, because you can’t plan for traffic. Ugh. My husband loves to joke around that his personal version of Hell would be me and his father in one room, planning something and dealing with the inevitable change.

Another thing I don’t do well with? Asking for help. I know that I am not alone in this and I really can’t explain why it’s so hard to ask for help and the converse, why it is so hard to accept help when it is offered? My friends know me very well and they have actually started asking if I need help with specific tasks or even giving me a specific solution for my quandary.

So, our children’s televisions programming station debuted a new (random to me) program and irony of ironies, the lesson being taught today was about asking for help when you need it.

Thanks, birdies.
_________________________________________________________________________________________


1 Comment

Filed under family, funnies, travel, Tuesday

One response to “Teachin’ the Teacher Tuesday: Education via Childrens’ Programming

  1. Oh, this is just right! I love the irony. I am exactly the same. We have the good shows that we watch and we know what time they’re on. I think I get MUCH more upset when they mess with the scheduling than my little guy! And asking for help is one of those things that I just don’t do. I always feel as if I’m imposing.

Leave a Reply

