Seven Quick Takes Friday (Vol. 9): The Goodbye Edition

7.
I write this from my living room, surrounded by towers of boxes, and I can honestly say that it has not fully hit me that this will be our last night in this house… our last night in the State of Missouri (depending on what side of Kansas City we get a hotel in.) It’s amazing how four years can seem so long, but at the same time, seem so short. In fact, I have been writing this blog for about two years, and it seems not so long.

6.
We’ve had lots of great memories made here. One of my favorites remains Christmas 2 years ago. DH and I got the bright idea to caulk the windows one cold night and the heavy VOC smell drove us out of the bedrooms and into sleeping on the living room floor. Early that next morning, The Bear woke me up by saying: “An Animal!! Mama, look at the Animal!!” Sleepily, I open my eyes and focus on this HUGE opossum on our deck, munching on a failed batch of Christmas Candy that was cemented in a crockpot.

5.
I actually found my first friends, and subsequently, two of my BFFs through La Leche League. Picture this: October 2007, I am a brand new mom of an almost 2 month old baby. Breastfeeding is going great, but then… my fertility returns. So, I’m not quite sure how that will affect our nursing relationship. I call the LLL hotline and talk to the leader on call. Next thing I know, I am sobbing on the phone, telling this poor woman that I am new to the area and I have no friends! She, thankfully, didn’t think I was insane and introduced me to my first friend here.

4.
A January Day in 2009 was a hard one for me. The night before, our kitty took a turn for the worse. I took him to the hospital the next morning and had to make the hard decision to let him go. DH brought the 18mo old little Bear in to say “goodbye” to kitty. We walked out missing a family member but later that day found out that we would be welcoming our little Dragonfly.

3.
Lent 2009 brought the formation of small faith groups in our parish which lead to the birth of BAFG (Big *** Faith Group.) Our group has grown from maybe 8 women and a bunch of kids, to over 20 women and a bunch of kids. We’ve welcomed at least 5 new babies and are eagerly waiting for the births of 2 more. We’ve had a sister move to Texas and with me leaving for California, it really epitomizes the command to go out and preach the Gospel.

2.
Most of all I think of my BFFs. The girls that I don’t know what I am going to do without. I know that I will meet some new wonderful women, but it won’t be the same. I’ll miss being able to call you at anytime, with any news… good or bad. I’ll miss being able to come by your house or have you come by mine and we haven’t seen the water of a shower in days. I’ll miss chatting over glasses of wine and pieces of dessert. I’ll miss hearing you say, “You know, there is no such thing as perfect.” I’ll miss the kids and the playdates that as of late started looking more like a scene from “Lord of the Flies.” I’ll miss walking with you through your journeys of faith. I’ll miss just sitting and being. God blessed me with a sister, but we are 9 years apart in age; however, he gave me 3 other sisters who are just right. I love you girls.

1. Goodbye Missouri…

___________________________________________________________________________________________

Be sure to head over to Conversion Diary to read more Seven Quick Takes!


5 Comments

Filed under 7 Quick Takes, Friday

5 responses to “Seven Quick Takes Friday (Vol. 9): The Goodbye Edition

  1. Reading this, I am sad for what you’re leaving behind, but happy for the wonderful memories you made. Can I just say that #3 cracks me up!

    Traveling mercies to you!

  2. Laura

    What’s #1?

  3. Joanne

    Sweet. I’ll miss you, Kari….

  4. Wendy

    This of course made me cry! Happy and safe trip, Kari! Can’t wait to hear about your new adventures.

  5. Good luck to you in California!

Leave a Reply

