Seven Quick Takes Friday (Vol. 11)

7.
Gina @ The Feminist Breeder wrote a great little piece on the Diva Cup. I’ve been a Diva Cup owner for about three years but I have been less than successful with it. One of her commenters gave a great little tip, to turn the cup inside out- thus shortening the cup a little bit more since my pelvic floor is… less than ideal. That little tip I was able to employ and now I am in love with my Diva Cup again!!

6.
We’ve been here for a little over a week and my mom just left Thursday morning, so tomorrow (Friday) will be my first day alone with the girls again… with no friends. Now, it’s not as if I have had the time to go out and find any friends, but still, it’s kind of daunting! But I have been in touch with a local MOPS group and there is a meeting next week so I am excited about that, and there is LLL. I should really check out the Pasadena Public Library to see if there are any programs for moms and small kiddos. Besides, the library is GORGEOUS!

5.
I have some *bad* news about my friend’s son, Chase. He’s the little boy who contracted an e.coli infection this summer. The doctors have done all that they can do and Chase is very tired, in the words of his mom. It’s now, more so than ever, in God’s Hands. If you pray, please pray.

4.
Not to continue on a sad news trend, but there is a positive in this next story. Thursday morning, The Today Show ran a story about a mom who was diagnosed with Cancer while she was pregnant. Basically it came down to her having to choose: Her Life, or her Baby’s. She chose to save her baby and died three days after holding her baby girl for the first (and only) time. Not only does this story speak to the extreme sacrifices that a mother will go through for her child, but it is a modern re-telling of the story of St. Gianna Beretta Molla. From St. Gianna’s biography:

In September 1961 towards the end of the second month of pregnancy, she was touched by suffering and the mystery of pain; she had developed a fibroma in her uterus. Before the required surgical operation, and conscious of the risk that her continued pregnancy brought, she pleaded with the surgeon to save the life of the child she was carrying, and entrusted herself to prayer and Providence. The life was saved, for which she thanked the Lord…

A few days before the child was due, although trusting as always in Providence, she was ready to give her life in order to save that of her child: “If you must decided between me and the child, do not hesitate: choose the child – I insist on it. Save him”. On the morning of April 21, 1962, Gianna Emanuela was born. Despite all efforts and treatments to save both of them, on the morning of April 28, amid unspeakable pain and after repeated exclamations of “Jesus, I love you. Jesus, I love you», the mother died. She was 39 years old.

3.
My girls are so excited about Halloween. The Bear is dressing as a Witch and the Dragonfly will be her kitty. Now, it IS kind of funny that for every halloween, The Dragonfly has been the animal companion to The Bear (Little Bo Peep/ Lamb; Farmer/ Cow; Witch/Kitty) but it’s still cute. And I’m the mama, so I can choose.

2.
My beloved Brewers came so close, but missed the World Series by “that much.” (You have to kind of imagine the Don Adams Voice in that one.) So, I am cheering for the Cards.

1.
I managed to go a whole week without an accident. My driving confidence is slowly returning, but I am seriously missing my van.
___________________________________________________________________________________________

Be sure to head over to Conversion Diary to read more Seven Quick Takes!

And… I’m on Pinterest now!


Leave a comment

Filed under 7 Quick Takes, Friday, travel

Leave a Reply

