Whatever Wednesday: Little Miss Austen

I met up with some soon-to-be “mama friends” at a LBS this morning (LBS= Local book shop, not to be confused with LYS= local yarn shop.) The group is a chapter of Mocha Moms, which sounds like it going to be great fun! But that’s not the point of this post…

So, after the story time hour for the kiddos, I had a chance to peruse this new haven of all things literary and I came across this little gem:

How fun!!

It’s a counting book, but while it’s geared to those of the counting set, it’s still great fun… especially if you are an Austen fan. My favorite page has to be this:

Although the page with Mr. Bingley and Mr. Darcy is cute as well.

Is this a kid version of Pride and Prejudice? Not quite as the plot is not revealed in the numbers 1-10, but I still like it. Hopefully the girls will as well!

______________________________________________________________________________


5 Comments

Filed under books, family, wednesday

5 responses to “Whatever Wednesday: Little Miss Austen

  1. How fun! I had no idea! At first I thought, “I don’t know about this whole 4 marriage proposals thing. Do I really want my daughter reading that?” But a counting board book like this is aimed just as much at the parents as it is at the kids, and I’d be delighted to have one in our book basket!

    • It’s is unfortunate, however, that while the book starts P&P specific, it quickly goes more general… from the 4 proposals (Mr. Collins/Elizabeth; Mr. Darcy/ Elizabeth-1; Mr. Bingley/ Jane; Mr. Darcy/ Elizabeth-2) to 8 musicians… 9 ball gowns…

      Like I said, it’s super cute and I find nothing wrong with peaking an interest in Austen at an early age! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Well-Rounded Links

  3. Wendy

    Oh my gosh! I love Jane Austen! One of my lit classes in college was Jane Austen and film. Must get this book 🙂

Leave a Reply

