Seven Quick Takes Friday (Vol. 13)

1.

The most recent update on Chase is as follows:

“We are still hanging in there. Chase has had a few moments of distress here and there, but he is resting comfortably now. Waiting for the inevitable is next to impossible for me, but we are trying to fill this time with love, hugs, cuddles and kisses. Thanks for the continued prayers and support during this time. It means so much to us.”

If you could, please keep praying for this little boy and strength for his family.

2.

My grand plan of starting The Bear in homeschooling this past week pretty much failed. I am such a schedule person and since I hadn’t lesson planned, nothing happened. I won’t lie, I am feeling a bit overwhelmed, but I think that it only because I had not come up with a schedule. So, I sat down and sketched out a rough schedule for the days that we are going to have school (MWF.) Now that that is done, I can move onto lesson planning within the schedule. Easy-Peasy, right?

3.

So far, I have joined up with two groups out here in Pasadena: MOPS and I will soon join Mocha Moms. It’s funny, when I was in college, I used to make fun of sorority girls (sorry!) for “buying” their friends (you know, because they had to pay dues and such.) Now I can totally see the value in it.

4.

One thing I will need to do (and soon) is make plans to see some of these moms and kiddos outside of the regular meeting times. We’ve headed to the park a few times, but there really haven’t been any kids there, so my girls end up playing with each other and I get zero adult conversation. It’s getting to the point that I have been randomly chatting up people on the streets as we are all out walking. I am sure the Starbucks baristas expect a certain level of interaction, but the desperation of a stay-home-mom-with-no-friends-and-a-husband-who-works-late is probably rolling off of me in waves! 🙂

5.

Bon Jovi Radio on Pandora has been my BFF this week. The only downside is that some of the songs remind me of a past relationship… not in a negative or longing way, more like how a perfume can remind you of someone or some even. Kind of weird.

6.

We have a new go-to staple in our house, thanks to Suzanne. Have you heard of Kefir?? Lovely, fantastic brew of milk and probiotics! Some brands are lactose-free, but I’ve been buying the Trader Joe’s version and I think that might have lactose. Since none of us are sensitive, I am not sure though. The plain reminds we of buttermilk, something as a child I used to guzzle down, but healthier.

7.

Remember how I used to really only read dark and twisty books or current event, non-fiction? Well, you’ll be happy to know that I have broadened my horizons and started reading… Chick Lit. More specifically, Knit Chick Lit. I try to stay away from the weepy, angsty novels (I’ve heard that Nicholas Sparks and Jodi Picoult can be weepy) and I have been sticking to the more saccharine-sweet world where there is always a happy ending.

___________________________________________________________________________________________

Be sure to head over to Conversion Diary to read more Seven Quick Takes!

Hallie Lord, from Betty Beguiles, has a new book that is due to be released in the Spring! And, you can pre-order now (or hint heavily to your loved ones that it would be a great gift!)

And… I’m on Pinterest now!


1 Comment

Filed under 7 Quick Takes, family, Friday

One response to “Seven Quick Takes Friday (Vol. 13)

  1. Thanks for the comment on my blog! Strangely enough, I have been thinking about kefir all week! I’ve never had it, but have been reading a lot about both milk and water kefirs, and plan to get some grains and start making my own!!!

Leave a Reply

