Teaching the Teacher Tuesdays: The Space

I have finally taken one more step toward getting our homeschooling started! Yesterday, I headed out to make photocopies of the worksheets that I want to use and I created this nifty little focus board for our teaching space.

There is a space for our Virtue and Verse of the Week, The Theme of the Month, Calendar information, and the Letter and Number of the Week. The handouts that we are using are basic letter, number, color, shape and pattern handouts from a book purchased from the store.

I am planning on teaching on Monday, Wednesday and Friday for 2.5 to 3 hours total and I think I have enough activites to fill our day, but I am still trying to find easy crafts for the girls (Pinterest has great ideas for larger, more complex crafts but not too many easier ones.) I’d like our crafts to be reflective of the letter, number, verse/virtue or season so that does open up lots of options.

The Bear is still working on completing the markers for her chore chart as well. Since one of the virtues that we want to foster is responsibility and I am a bit tired of doing EVERYTHING, we are in the process of giving her a visual for the things that she needs to do daily to help the house run. In addition to getting herself ready (brushing teeth, getting dressed, etc.) she also needs to make sure that her room is picked up and the table is set for meal times.  We are not planning on any type of reward for completing her responsibilities but we ARE thinking about a positive reward system for her exhibiting positive virtues… like playing nicely and not pinching her sister in frustration. I’ll keep you updated.
______________________________________________________________________________________________________
What does your Homeschool space look like, if you have one? What would your ideal space look like, if you decided to homeschool? What is needed in a “good” space? What are you thoughts on positive reinforcement for good habits?


3 Comments

Filed under Catholic, family, Homeschool, school, Tuesday

3 responses to “Teaching the Teacher Tuesdays: The Space

  1. Denise Webster

    I agree with you on not rewarding the chores. I have a 7 yr old and a 5 yr old. They alternate chores daily (3 or 4 a piece) and then I wrote bonus chores on Popsicle sticks that they can select to earn a quarter for each.

  2. Missy Welby

    My homeschool space currently is the kitchen table and buffet. Ideally, I would love to have a finished room in the basement with a class room. But for now, the kitchen table works. We give rewards for going above and beyond expected duties. Currently, money speaks to my oldest so cold hard green backs is the reward of choice. Love your blog. Keep sharing. Blessings, Missy

  3. Wendy

    I think a little praise and hug go a long way 🙂

    I love the system you’ve started. I’ve just begun searching for tools, formulas, curriculum, etc. Where did you start? I looked at Catholicmom.com and saw some great books. Now to see if our library has any…would love any direction 🙂

Leave a Reply

